Posted by: Bill & Gayle McCord | February 20, 2010

From Our Home to Yours: Weekend Recipes

Even though we work a lot on the weekends, this time of the week always feel like a time to relax, enjoy good food, and even better friends and family.  While we can’t give you the recipe for the latter, we can share some favorite food recipes, which we plan to do here and there (maybe on the weekends?).

A favorite of ours is a simple, easy-to-make-but-always-devoured 3-layer dip:

Ingredients:

1 box of cream cheese (we use 1/3 less fat)

1 can Chili (we use no-bean and if we’re feeling healthy turkey, but it works with beans and certainly with other meat)

1 small can chopped green chilies (Remind me to tell you a funny story about chilies later)

1 bag (maybe less) of grated Mexican cheese (Colby Jack is great too)

1 bag tortilla chips

Take a 9×9 Pyrex pan and spray it with Pam.  Then, spread the cream cheese on the bottom.  (Tip: You can pull it out of the fridge early to soften it and make this easier).  Then, add chili and spread it.  Next comes the chilies, then the cheese.  Pop it all in the microwave for 5 minutes (or however long it takes for the cheese to melt) and serve with chips.

You might as well double it, because it will get eaten.

Chillis? Chilies? or Chiles?

As for the funny story, when we first got married, I (Gayle) went to the grocery store for a few things.  I went up and down lots of aisles, not finding what I needed.  A stocker asked me if he could help me.  I said I needed “chillis” (pronounced chill-us).  He joined me for another tour of the store, shaking his head rather perplexed.  I finally found the small can of green CHILIES and exclaimed, “Here they are!”  His confusion went away, but in its place sprouted my mortification- it was not spelled the way I had heard my mother pronounce it for years.  It was one of the moments you are so embarrassed , you just want to disappear.  That stocker probably doesn’t remember it at all, but I sure do, and you can bet my daughter knows how to pronounce chilies.  In fact, she was a Spanish teacher and can tell you that “chilies” isn’t really correct either.  Sigh…the confusion lives on.

p.s.  Make sure you didn’t miss our last post on taking advantage of the home buyers tax credit– it’s worth a read!

Responses

  1. This is a great recipe! We love it – thanks.

  2. I always loved that story! (and that recipe :))

  3. Is it still good without the green chiles? I’m not a big fan of those, but we like other peppers.

  4. Yes, Kate it is still good! I have made it with Rotel, and it was yummy – or you could try salsa. If you don’t like the spicey flavor of the chilies in any of those – just leave it out.(:


Leave a Reply

Categories

