Posted by: Bill & Gayle McCord | March 5, 2010

Weekend Recipe: Omelette

Did you know that most chefs believe perfectly cooking an egg is one of the most challening culinary feats?

This is our traditional Christmas breakfast- this and my coffee cake- I think I know what I’ll be posting next week!  This is an easy way to get the taste of an omelette without the nerve-splitting stress of trying to flip one.

“Omlette”- aka egg casserole

1 c sliced mushrooms

½-1 c diced onion

2T butter/marg

6-8 slices cooked bacon or diced ham

12 ounces cheese (cheddar, Colby Jack, etc.)

8-12 eggs

Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions: Saute mushrooms and onions in butter.  You can omit these if you don’t like them.  Put mushrooms and onion and your meat of choice in the bottom of a greased 9×13 pan.  Beat eggs with a fork in a bowl and salt and pepper them as you like.  Pour them on top of veg and meat.  The recipe calls for 8, but I used 12 to make more.  Sprinkle cheese on top.  You can use whatever kind you like, and we always use a lot.  Bake at 275 F 45 minutes, probably longer if you use more than 8 eggs.

Want some more fun egg recipes?  Hope this dish is loved as much in your home as it is in ours.

Responses

  1. That omelette makes me think of Christmas morning. Yum.

  2. Good casserole – we need to make this (again)!

  3. […] short night for everyone, but we all fared well.  We had our traditional Christmas breakfast: my omlette and coffee cake, as well as Emily’s sausage balls.  Then we enjoyed stockings and […]

  4. […] Egg Casserole {aka omelette}- note, I poured my mixture into greased muffin tins and loved the result of individual “quiches”!  I also added sauteed mushrooms. […]

  5. I’ve been looking for an egg casserole without sausage since I can’t get it here in the DR premade. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

