Posted by: Bill & Gayle McCord | August 2, 2010

Networking Group

Hello, my name is Gayle, and I’m a REALTOR

I’m putting my REALTOR hat back on and letting you in on a little secret…that’s right, get excited.  I’m in the beginning of my 15th year of real estate, and if I’ve learned anything, it’s how incredibly important networking and referrals are!  Now, I don’t mean being a stalker on Facebook or scavenging blogs or leaving spammy comments with my link.  I’m actually just referring to the concept that it’s all about who you know and sharing referrals  and information when possible .

Networking & Referrals

For instance, say a new mother is bemoaning her lack of sleep.  When her friend mentions that she just read a great book that helped her slightly older baby sleep through the night, how long do you think it will take the newer mother to get to Barnes and Noble to buy it?  We trust our friends and their recommendations, and it’s not just products.  Similarly, imagine that you are looking for someone to cut your hair.  When your girl friend with the trendy new cut mentions who cut her hair and how sweet she was, it won’t take long for you to add that stylist’s info to your address book.

This is how Bill and I get a lot of our business.  We pride ourselves on customer service and not resting until our clients are 100% delighted with their sale and/or purchase.  As a result, we really do receive wonderful referrals (THANK YOU!!!).  And you know what?  We like to give referrals, too!  You can count on us giving referrals of people who have done a good job for others!

A Networking Group

Keeping people connected is a good part of our business.

Because this is a two-way street, we have started our own networking group. We are a growing group and have loved putting people and services in touch. For a networking group to function well, there have to be spots for various professionals, such as a  real estate agent, a loan officer, an estate attornesy, a dentist, a counselor,  an inspector, a photographer, an insurance agent, a plumber, an electrician, and the list just keeps going.  We only have 1 representative for each profession so as to avoid competing amongst ourselves.

Friendships & Support

A major benefit of joining a networking group, besides referrals, is the friendship and support you will receive.  There is discussion, education, support, good conversation, and income-producing opportunity.  It’s a great way to stay connected within your community, help others with their business through referrals, and receive referrals too!

Scheduling

We have found that an early morning breakfast  networking group works best for us.  The fact of the matter is that most of us are too busy to add another meeting to our schedules.  By getting together when  most people aren’t at work yet, you can usually squeeze it into your schedule, rather than trying to break away in the middle of the day once a week.

Purpose

  • We meet from 7:30-9 every Wednesday morning for the purpose of bringing referrals to the other members of the group.
  • We have a marketing minute to give a new slice  of information each week to each of the other members about the service and products we provide our clients so that they are better informed and can more easily find referrals for us.
  • We also will have one person a week give a 10 minute presentation of their job so that we can really learn in greater detail what each of us does.
  • We have training to make us more effective in marketing ourselves and each other.

Even though we are still building our group, we are conducting a lot of business with each other as well as bringing outside referrals.

An Invitation

I have really enjoyed the friendships I have made, and of course, the referrals for business.  Plus, I love hearing someone have a need and being able to supply a name or company who can help them.  I mentioned we are a growing group and still have spots available…we’d sure love to have a few more, including YOU!  If you are interested, please email me at: gaylemccord@kw.com

Responses

  1. Sounds like a good idea!

    • Thanks Miss Kate – it’s working well in it’s infancy so I’m excited to see it when it grows! The Los Colinas group of 45 members brought nearly $38,000,000 in business to their group in 5 years which is quite impressive in my book!!

  2. […] to visit with my friends and my cousin, I was also blessed with a surprise party!  My sweet networking group had a cake and a party for me at the meeting preceding my birthday.  I was so not expecting this […]

  3. […] have been in a networking group this year which has been amazing because not only have I got business professionals to refer to you […]

  4. […] have been in a networking group this year which has been amazing because not only have I got business professionals to refer to you […]

  5. […] have been in a networking group this year which has been amazing because not only have I got business professionals to refer to you […]

  6. […] to Meet My Network Monday!  You’ve already met some fabulous colleagues of mine  from my networking group : Glenn Colley with WR Starkey and Brian Burcham with Burcham Insurance, and Cheryl Williams […]

  7. […] to Meet My Network Monday!  You’ve already met some fabulous colleagues of mine  from my networking group : Glenn Colley with WR Starkey and Brian Burcham with Burcham Insurance, and Cheryl Williams […]

  8. […] to Meet My Network Monday!  You’ve already met some fabulous colleagues of mine  from my networking group : Glenn Colley with WR Starkey and Brian Burcham with Burcham Insurance, and Cheryl Williams […]

  9. […] to Meet My Network Monday!  You’ve already met some fabulous colleagues of mine  from my networking group : Glenn Colley with WR Starkey and Brian Burcham with Burcham Insurance, and Cheryl Williams […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

