Posted by: Bill & Gayle McCord | August 11, 2010

Happy Birthday, Em!

Today Emily is turning 31!  We can’t believe our baby is in her 30’s.  She can’t really believe it either.  Anyway, we just wanted to tell her happy birthday and we wish we could celebrate with you!  However, we’re sure Josh and the kids are making your day super-special.

To Emily on Her Birthday…

Emily, I always hoped to have a son and a daughter so on the afternoon of August 11, 1979 at 1:28 you can imagine my delight to hear that you were a healthy baby girl!  My love for you has deepened with each passing year right along with my pride in you through each stage of your life.  Your beauty on the outside has always been  matched by your inward beauty.

I loved that I was able to be a stay at home Mom with you when you were little.  I treasured holding you as a baby and watching the changes as you grew.  It was such fun to play with you, read to you, cook with you, and all of the fun things that we did together.  I loved how much you loved me!   Every stage of your life has been a blessing to me as well as to many others, and I so enjoy being your Mom. 

I remember finding out after the fact that when Billy wanted to buy something new, he would have a room sale and sell toys to you at inflated prices.  You knew that you were paying too much money but what you didn’t know was that he would  keep your money yet reclaim the toys you had so generously bought from him.  You have always loved your brother and wanted to help him even when it cost you.

I have always admired  your security in your faith and standing your ground.  For example in I remember a  Jr. High debate about when and what you should tell your children about sex, you told them you would tell them to wait until marriage for sex because the gift of your virginity was such a great gift to give your spouse.  This was only part of your convictions as  you knew you couldn’t mention the Bible in public school but you stood your ground resulting in a lower grade for answering all the questions and comments that were thrown back at you from your classmates when limited to responding to only 2.   In High School you stood firm on your conviction to not drink but rather than being ridiculed  you were respected.

We moved you around quite a bit while you were growing up, and you always bounced right in there and made new friends and had a good time.   It gave you early preparation for all the moving you would do with Josh – Plano, Dallas, Frisco, Iowa City, and Aberdeen in your first 9 years!  I have always appreciated your good attitude about change Emily.

You have blossomed in the years you and Josh have been married!  You have a husband who adores you for which I am very grateful.  You are a precious wife to Josh in your devotion to him and the deep love that you have for him.  Read Proverbs 31 on your birthday as you will see yourself in that chapter!

Emily, you also have 2 fabulous children!  Rebekah and Luke adore you, and I know how you love them.  I’m so pleased that you are raising them in a home full of love and centered on Jesus Christ!  They are such blessings to my life and yours!

In addition to loving and caring for  your family, you are an excellent cook, take pride in your home, and work hard writing articles for quite a few blogs to help provide for your family.  You are a precious friend in the loving way you care and provide for others.

I love you from the bottom of my heart and wish you a very Happy Birthday Emily!  You are a wonderful daughter of whom I am deeply proud – thank you for being such a tremendous blessing in my life!!  I thank God for you and your family every day as I am so blessed to have you . . . even across the pond!

Josh, Emily, Rebekah, & Luke

Emily, the kids, and me this past April

Em & Luke

Em & me on the West Coast of Scotland

p.s.  The 2 middle pics were done by Emily’s friend, Rachel Owens.  If you’re lucky enough to be in TN, check her out!

Responses

  1. I love you, Mom! Thanks for writing such a sweet post!!! I remember when I turned 27 and Rebekah was about a month old, I realized how much my birthday must mean to YOU! So, happy birthday to you, too! I love you and am glad you’re my mom!

    • Thank you Emily for your reply – You are so precious to me, and yes only a Mom can realize that their child’s birthday is their birthday too. I couldn’t be happier to be your Mom as you are truly awesome!

  2. This is so sweet. I’m glad Emily was born too. 🙂 Emily truly is a blessing to all of those around her.

  3. […] sweet one from my husband, 3 tiny ones from my daughter, and 2 bouquets of flowers, not to mention the sweetest post ever!!!  Rachel not only kept my kids that morning, she also offered to do it!  So, the kids played […]

  4. So sweet, Gayle! Like mother, like daughter you are both beautiful people who point me to Jesus!


Leave a Reply

Categories

