Posted by: Bill & Gayle McCord | August 23, 2010

Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad!

Happy 35th Anniversary, Mom and Dad!

This is Emily here!  I love you so much and am so, so, so happy you’re still married!  I don’t mean that as a statement of surprise, by the way.  All I mean is that I feel incredibly blessed that you and dad have been my parents as a couple my whole life.  Not enough people can say that.  And it’s not that everything has been easy.  But you two have chosen to weather the good and the bad and to come out all the better 35 years later.

I am also delighted to have seen you grow more and more in love.  You had Billy the year after you married (yes, the math all works out, praise the Lord), so you didn’t have all that much time to just be married.  I appreciate that amidst the craziness of career and rearing children, you were able to keep a relationship for yourselves.  Plus, you each took time with us to show us you loved us and we were special.  I have never doubted your love for or your pride in me.  Thank you for that.

I love you guys.  I hope you have a great day!!  You deserve it!

Thank you Em!  You and Billy and your precious family are tremendous blessings to us – we love all of you dearly!

Bill – I love you very much, and can not believe that we’ve been married for 35 years – except that Billy is now 33.  The years have flown by.  We have grown together, laughed together, and hurt together.  We took our vows seriously and have gone through for better or for worse, for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, and I’m so glad we did it together!  Who would have thought when we met when we were 14 and 15 that 42 years later we’d have 2 wonderful children, a terrific son-in-law and daughter-in-law, and four totally awesome grandchildren?    We are truly blessed!!  Happy Anniversary!!

I love that you can always find my dad by looking for the kids.

I also love seeing my mom hugging on all the kids! She's pretty great at spoiling them, too!

Responses

  1. Happy Anniversary!!!

  2. Happy anniversary! Hope it is a wonderful year ahead for both of you. Can’t wait to see you around Thanksgiving and the kids.

  3. Happy anniversary, Mom and Dad! I love you tons!

  4. I didn’t realize that was today — Happy Anniversary to both of you!

  5. Thank you Kate, Phyllis, Emily, and Eryn – we have had a great day together!


Leave a Reply

Categories

