Posted by: Bill & Gayle McCord | April 22, 2011

Weekend Recipe: My new health “diet”

Paleo Diet

Over a month ago, I started the Paleo “diet.”  It’s not a quick weight loss diet or anything like that.  Rather, it’s a lifestyle change for better health, which I’d like to maintain. It is  basically a return to whole, healthy, natural foods such as meat, fish, fresh veggies, nuts with the exception of peanuts, and fruit.  You  avoid gluten, sugar, dairy, and processed foods, which is challenging but doable, and  the health benefits outweigh the sacrifices.  I learned that gluten blocks your body from absorbing the nutrients in the food you eat – not good!  Diseases that can be avoided include cancer, Alzheimer’s, diabetes, Parkinson’s, and heart disease.  Many people have lost weight, felt better, slept better, and even reversed serious health problems/diseases by following the Paleo diet.  I have heard of women who had not been able to conceive getting pregnant after switching to this diet.  I stayed on it for 3 1/2 weeks prior to arriving in Scotland but have given myself some allowances while here.  I have been much more aware of what goes into my food instead of just looking at what has been taken out {calories or fat}.

The main thing is to find great recipes, which I am starting to do.  You don’t want to abandon Paleo because you don’t have resources.  So, for the next few {maybe more} weeks, I’d love to share some of my favorite new Paleo-friendly recipes and websites!  Plus, I’m making some of them  for Em’s family while I’m here in Scotland.

Salad Dressing

  • 2/3 c olive oil
  • 1/2 c balsamic vinegar
  • 2 cloves crushed fresh garlic
  • 1t dry mustard
  • 1t salt
  • 1 t pepper

Shake together in a jar- you might as well make a double or triple recipe because you’re going to love it!

{Don’t forget to check out KCK’s weekend recipe, too!}

Leave a Reply

Categories

